Stephan Emmerth

Ihre Kontaktperson

Stephan Emmerth

PhD | Senior Project Manager Biotech, Business Development Senior Manager BaseLaunch


Tel. +41 61 295 50 17

stephan.notexisting@nodomain.comemmerth@baselarea.notexisting@nodomain.comswiss

Life Sciences

Die Life Sciences-Industrie gehört zu den Schlüsselbranchen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Immense technologische Fortschritte etwa bei Genomsequenzierung, der Entwicklung hocheffizienter Methoden zur Genmanipulation sowie Durchbrüche bei der Stammzellenforschung haben zu bahnbrechenden wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen geführt. Zudem verspricht die zunehmende Digitalisierung des Healthcare-Sektors grosse Fortschritte in der Diagnostik, der synthetischen Biologie bis hin zu ganz neuen, vermehrt auch personalisierten Therapieansätzen.

Die Region Basel gehört weltweit zu den wichtigsten Zentren der Life Sciences-Industrie. Mit Roche und Novartis haben gleich zwei der fünf führenden globalen Pharmakonzerne ihren Ursprung und Hauptsitz in Basel. Zusammen mit Actelion (im Jahr 2000 gegründet und heute ein Unternehmen mit mehr als zwei Milliarden Umsatz) gibt es 600 weitere Life Sciences-Unternehmen und Biotech-Start-ups in der Region. Erstklassige Forschungseinrichtungen wie das Biozentrum der Universität Basel, das Universitätsspital, das Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) sowie das BSSE der ETH Zürich zementieren den Ruf von Basel als führende Life Sciences-Destination. Dieses dichte akademische und industrielle Umfeld sowie die Verfügbarkeit von Risikokapital sind denn auch der ideale Nährboden für die Entstehung neuer Firmen.

Die Aktivitäten von BaselArea.swiss im Technologiefeld „Life Sciences“ fokussieren insbesondere auf zwei Themenbereiche:

  • Drug Development: Wurden früher die meisten Medikamente von den Pharmafirmen selber entwickelt, stammen die erfolgreichsten Produkte heute von kleinen spezialisierten Biotechfirmen. Grosse Pharmafirmen streben deshalb zunehmend danach, mit diesen innovativen Jungfirmen in Kontakt zu kommen – entweder durch Investitionen via konzerneigene Venture Funds oder durch Kollaborations- und Lizenzabkommen.
  • Precision Medicine: Um den wachsenden Herausforderungen im Gesundheitssektor zu begegnen sind neue Ansätze zur Therapie, Pflege und Prävention nötig. Durch den Einsatz von digitalen Technologien kann die Behandlung von Patienten stärker personalisiert und damit die  Wirksamkeit deutlich verbessert werden.

Zu den oben genannten Fokusthemen organisiert BaselArea.swiss im Technologiefeld „Life Sciences“  regelmässig Networking-Events und Workshops. Ziel dieser Veranstaltungen ist es, den Erfahrungs- und Wissensaustausch zwischen Unternehmen und Spezialisten zu fördern, zu neuen Ideen zu inspirieren sowie konkrete Projekte zu unterstützen und neue zu initialisieren:

  • Bioentrepreneurship Events: BaselArea.swiss organisiert regelmässig Veranstaltungen zum Thema „Biotech Entrepreneurship“, unter anderem in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Life Sciences Network Basel (LSNB). Hierbei bietet sich Mitarbeitern aus etablierten Life Sciences-Unternehmen, Innovatoren aus Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Unternehmern und Investoren die Möglichkeit zum Erfahrungs- und Wissensaustausch.
  • Precision Medicine Group Basel Area: In engster Zusammenarbeit mit Experten aus der Life Sciences- und Healthcare-Industrie pflegt BaselArea.swiss eine neutrale Plattform mit dem Ziel, konkrete Innovations-Projekte zu generieren und bei der Umsetzung zu unterstützen. Treten Sie unserer LinkedIn Gruppe bei.

Darüber hinaus unterstützt BaselArea.swiss Innovatoren und Start-up-Projekte auf individueller Basis im Rahmen von Einzelgesprächen und Expertenmeetings zur Prüfung und Unterstützung der Business-Ideen.
Weitere Informationen

 

Stephan Emmerth

Ihre Kontaktperson

Stephan Emmerth

PhD | Senior Project Manager Biotech, Business Development Senior Manager BaseLaunch


Tel. +41 61 295 50 17

stephan.notexisting@nodomain.comemmerth@baselarea.notexisting@nodomain.comswiss

Stephan Emmerth

Your contact person

Stephan Emmerth

PhD | Senior Project Manager Biotech, Business Development Senior Manager BaseLaunch


Tel. +41 61 295 50 17

stephan.notexisting@nodomain.comemmerth@baselarea.notexisting@nodomain.comswiss

Life Sciences

The life sciences industry is one of the key sectors of the 21st century. Huge technological advances, for example in genome sequencing, the development of highly efficient methods of gene manipulation and also breakthroughs in stem-cell research, have led to groundbreaking scientific discoveries. The growing digitalization of the healthcare sector also promises enormous advances in diagnostics and synthetic biology right through to completely new and increasingly also personalized approaches to medical treatment.

The Basel region is one of the world’s most important centres of the life sciences industry. With Roche and Novartis, two of the five leading global pharmaceutical companies have their origins and global headquarters in Basel. Along with Actelion (founded in 2000 and today a company with sales worth more than two billion francs) there are 600 other life sciences companies and biotech start-ups in the region. First-class research institutions, such as the Biozentrum of the University of Basel, the University Hospital, the Friedrich Miescher Institute (FMI) and the Departement of biosystems Science and Engineering (D-BSSE) of ETH Zurich, go to cement the reputation of Basel as a leading life sciences hub. This dense academic and industrial setting and the availability of venture capital also provide the ideal hotbed for the creation of new companies.

The activities of BaselArea.swiss in the Life Sciences technology field are focused in particular on two subject areas:

Drug Development

While most medicines were previously developed by pharmaceutical companies themselves, the most successful products today come from small specialist biotech firms. Big pharmaceutical companies are therefore increasingly seeking contact with these innovative young firms – either through investments via the companies’ own venture funds or through collaboration and licence agreements.

Precision Medicine

To meet the growing challenges in the healthcare sector, new approaches to treatment, care and prevention are needed. Through the use of digital technologies, the treatment of patients can be more personalized and the efficacy of treatment thus markedly improved.

In the technology field Life Sciences BaselArea.swiss regularly organizes networking events and workshops on the above focus issues. The aim of these meetings is to promote the exchange of experiences and knowledge between companies and specialists, to inspire new ideas and to support concrete projects and initialize new ones:

Bioentrepreneurship Events

BaselArea.swiss regularly organizes events on the topic of Biotech Entrepreneurship, in collaboration also with the Life Sciences Network Basel (LSNB). Here employees from established life sciences companies, innovators from research and development, entrepreneurs and investors are offered the opportunity to exchange experiences and knowledge.

Precision Medicine Group Basel Area

In the closest collaboration with experts from the life sciences and healthcare industry, BaselArea.swiss cultivates a neutral platform with the aim of generating concrete innovation projects and providing support in their realization. Join our LinkedIn group.

BaseLaunch Accelerator

The program managed by BaselArea.swiss works to attract and accelerate promising and groundbreaking healthcare startups. It provides participating teams with infusions of funds, insight, infrastructure and industry access, and integrates them into one of the most dynamic biotech and pharma ecosystems in Europe. More information and application: www.baselaunch.ch

Furthermore, BaselArea.swiss provides individual support for innovators and start-up projects in one-on-one discussions and expert meetings for the review and support of business ideas.
For further information

Stephan Emmerth

Your contact person

Stephan Emmerth

PhD | Senior Project Manager Biotech, Business Development Senior Manager BaseLaunch


Tel. +41 61 295 50 17

stephan.notexisting@nodomain.comemmerth@baselarea.notexisting@nodomain.comswiss
Cookies

BaselArea.swiss uses cookies to ensure you get the best service on our website.
By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies.

Ok